Manliness: It Does Not Come From Flagellation

Hello everyone!

I know it’s been quite awhile but I promise it was a good excuse. Now that my midterms are finally over, I’d like to address something that most of you probably don’t know about: Flagellation-the beating as a source of erotic or religious stimulation.

Before this was uploaded to my Facebook feed, I had no idea what it was. I remember reading Moliere’s Tartuffe in my Literature class last semester and recalling a part of the play when Tartuffe spoke about how he wore a leather shirt with the hair still on it. But instead the of facing out, the hair faced inward, as to constantly cause irritation in the name God. I’m not quite sure exactly what was said as it has been translated so many times, but it was something along that line.

Now, I don’t claim to be any sort of religious or spiritualistic person. I respect others in their beliefs, but strongly feel that anyone who follows anything blindly is an idiot. You wouldn’t shoot a gun blind, or drive a car blind, so why is it ok to follow blind? I simply don’t understand. So please don’t confuse this post as a religion bashing one, because it isn’t. I honestly don’t understand why anyone would do what you are about to watch. Let alone in the name of a God.

Here’s the video and article that was uploaded to my feed a few days ago. The original video has been taken down and replaced with a milder one, and I was unable to find it. However, if you’re really interested in more of this, conduct some research of your own on Google or something, because I won’t be able to help. I quite simply don’t have the stomach for it.

Time for some Man-pinion.
Look, I’m all for equal treatment of everyone and also feel that religion should be up to the believer. That being said, I still feel this is quite possibly the furthest thing from religion that I’ve ever seen. I simply can’t fathom the necessity to inflict any harm, let alone personal harm, in the name of any deity. The fact that these people are so brainwashed that they literally cut the their backs down to the spine with machete’s, and then promptly pass out only to have paramedics revive them. If you’re wondering where I got that information, that’s what was shown in the original video I watched. I was unable to find it, but again, there are lots of videos all over the net showing worse than that.
So, to you five or six people who follow my blog. What’s your opinion on this?
Leave a Reply

