National Park Budget Cuts = Not Manly

WHAT IS UP!?  Feel free to comment and let me know what you’ve been up to the last week or so over spring break. Speaking of, I hope you all head a phenomenal break like I did, I’m glad you all made it back to campus if you go to Northwest Missouri State University like I do, if not, why aren’t you going here? Back on topic!

I don’t know if any of you have heard about the recent sequester that has been going on in congress and the like, but it isn’t good. I think? Honestly I have no clue what a sequester even is, I’ve googled it up/left/right and back down and still don’t understand it. Bureaucracy, am I right? No? Yeah I didn’t think so… Anyways, one main thing that came out of this sequester that I do understand are budget cuts. Loads and loads of budget cuts, including some on our national parks.

Seeing as how I’m in school to become a geologist, this pains my soul! National parks are kick ass! If you haven’t been to one I highly suggest you go, a Sate Park would do. Just get outside! Too many people stay inside too much thanks to websites like Netflix and Hulu, along with Xbox Live. Go climb a tree. No seriously go climb a tree.

You’re back? How was it? You didn’t fall did you? No? Good. Let’s continue.

As of today, the first of April 2013, federal budget cuts force Yellowstone Park to curtail Old Faithful eruptions. This is really disappointing, Yellowstone has been a milestone for every outdoors-man and traveler. It’s almost the American rite of passage to visit it and witness the awesomeness that is the Old Faithful eruption. Instead of having eruptions every hour and a half, the national park will essentially be throttling the amount of water allowed into the area to only allow two to three eruptions a day.

So since Old Faithful won’t be as faithful as it was in the past, I guess we’ll simply have to find another way of having fun at Yellowstone… Hmm… What to do… Why not traverse Bacon Rind Creek Trail? What, you think I’m joking? I’m not, so click the link to the left or below and let’s plan a group hike through some bacon.

I hope your break was as great as mine was. Tell me about how drunk you got in the comments! Or how awesome your mom’s house was! Or whatever other story you feel like adding.

Links:

Bacon Rind Creek:  http://www.rei.com/guidepost/detail/montana/hiking/bacon-rind-creek-trail/40817

Federal Budget Cuts: http://www.yellowstonegate.com/2013/04/federal-budget-cuts-force-yellowstone-park-curtail-old-faithful-eruptions/

2 comments on “National Park Budget Cuts = Not Manly

  1. north west missouri state? that’s one word good sir.

Leave a Reply

